Tira.D.Toss Take Two!

Remember when I last blogged about the Peruvian-Japanese Tira.D.Toss?  Well I recently went back a second time, and sadly, don’t think I’d go back for a third.

I gotta say, the food there rates at least a fine in my book (pretty good!), so it’s very unfortunate that I wouldn’t return.  But the service is just… so… slow… !  I went with four others this last time, for a total of five, and our meal lasted just as long as the first.  That is, nearly two hours!

Now, before I banish Tira.D.Toss in my book forever, let me at least share what I ordered this past visit.  I present to you… the Black Dragon, described as “shrimp tempura, cucumber roll with Japanese snapper topped with avocado & eel sauce.”  At least that’s what I attempted to order.  Sounds delicious, right?  I was especially looking forward to the Japanese snapper!  Sounds exotic.

042915_tiradtoss_dragon

Well, when the order came out…

I realized they had only given me the Dragon roll (the waiter misheard), which is a shrimp tempura roll and cream cheese, avocado, eel sauce, and spicy mayo.  It took me a while to figure out, but I knew something was wrong because the roll didn’t seem as large (in size) as it should’ve been for a “premium” roll.  I especially dislike cream cheese in my sushi, so when I saw that, I immediately had to ask for a re-do, despite waiting a very long time for the first roll.

042915_tiradtoss_blackdragonThe re-do comes out…  and I notice that it still has cream cheese!  How is that possible?  Cream cheese is not even list in the original item!  The recipe’s not that difficult to follow!  Also, as you’ll notice, the roll was missing the avocado!  And the cucumber!  Plenty of eel sauce though…

When the bill came, I saw that the restaurant charged me for a Black Dragon roll, even though they managed to mess it up twice.  Of course, it was time to speak with the manager.  I won’t bore you with all the details, but to make a long story short, I ended up with a gratis lunch and dinner.  And that, my friends, is the last free lunch and dinner I will being having from Tira.D.Toss.

*Location:
2475 NW 95th Ave #7
Doral, FL 33172

Leave a Reply

