Pho, Bun, and Banh Xeo at Top Pan

Did the title of this post look like a completely alien language to you?  Don’t worry, because by the end of this post, you’ll know what every one of those things are!  Hint: they’re all edible!

First off, Top Pan* is an Asian restaurant in South Florida.  It’s pretty new, so my family and I decided to check it out two weekends ago.  (By the way, you might not find it online if you’re searching for “Top Pan,” since it recently changed it’s name to “Brandon.”  Why?  No idea!)  Anyhoo, we ordered some Vietnamese, like we had at Little Saigon in Orlando just over a week ago.  Guess you could say we were on a Vietnamese kick.

042615_toppan_pho

We ordered the traditional Pho Dac Biet, which translates to the Pho Special with a miscellaneous combination of beef parts, like tripe, tendon, brisket, flank, and meatballs.  In this bowl in particular, plenty (read: too much) of onion was added for flavor.  Overall, pretty standard fare.  Nothing stood out for me, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  I’d rate it a good-fine.

We also ordered the Bun Dac Biet, with spring roll.

042615_toppan_bunSo many peanuts!  (I dislike peanuts…)  I will say that I wasn’t expecting shrimp in this dish, as it doesn’t typically come with that meat, and the portion size was quite generous.  I also noticed that the Julienned carrots and turnips were pickled, which added a welcome slightly sour profile between mouthfuls of noodles.  Of course, this entree cost a dollar or two more than the standard bowl of Bun, so I suppose I should’ve expected the extras.  It was a fine meal.

Last but not least, we ordered the Banh Xeo appetizer to share.  The Banh Xeo is a savory pancake made from rice flour, turmeric, and water.  Those ingredients are fried in a hot skillet and stuffed/folded with fatty pork, shrimp, and bean sprouts.  Fresh herbs like mint and basil are served on the side and optionally eaten alongside the pancake.  Fish sauce also comes on the side, for dipping.  I love fish sauce, though usually ration it because it’s packed with so much sodium!  #hugefrown

The Banh Xeo at Top Pan was a bit oily for my taste.  I don’t recall ever feeling like I was inhaling oil when I’ve eaten Banh Xeo in the past.  If you look closely at the picture, you can see a glistening sheen on the pancake.  For that reason alone, it gets a below average!

042615_toppan_banhxeo

Top Pan’s menu — at least the one I saw in-person — was pretty extensive, but their online menu only seems to cover a portion of what I saw in-person.  Hopefully they update their website and online menu soon!  When I was dining at the restaurant, I saw quite a few other tables order hot pot, which I am looking forward to ordering next time, especially since there aren’t very many places in South Florida that offer it!

Location:
6417 Stirling Road
Davie, FL 33314

Leave a Reply

