Artisan Pizzas at Uno Pizzeria & Grill

For all my pizza fans out there, this one’s for you!

During my recent travels to the land of Mickey Mouse, I was looking for a quick, budget-friendly place for dinner and stumbled upon Uno Pizzeria & Grill* after glancing at my hotel’s homepage.  I knew Uno was famous for their deep-dish, but since I wasn’t really in the mood for the heavy stuff, I opted to try their Artisan pizza options instead.  With a takeout special of 2 for $20, I was sold.

Bachelor #1… Chicken Verde Artisan Crust Pizza: chicken, roasted red peppers, garlic, and spinach, topped with mozzarella, drizzled with basil pesto

uno_chicken_verde_052414

Hot or not?  I’d give this guy a “fine” (4 out of 5) rating.  I would take it and its gustatorily attractive toppings on a second date.

Bachelor #2… Prosciutto Arugula Artisan Crust Pizza: peppers topped with aged white cheddar, mozzarella, parmesan, and arugula, drizzled with balsamic glaze

uno_prosciutto_052414

Hot or not?  I’d also give this candidate a “fine” (4 out of 5) rating, though I think I’d prefer bachelor #1.  The balsamic glaze on #2 gave it a pleasantly sweet personality.

I will say that I’m a fan of the Artisan crust.  It’s a bit on the thinner side, yet still somewhat fluffy.  (For the record, I think fluffy-on-the-inside-crispy-on-the-outside crust is the best!)

Did you know?  Though not formally documented, deep dish pizza is said to have originated at Pizzeria Uno in Chicago in 1943, and Chicago-style deep dish can be up to three inches thick.

Hungry yet?  What’s your favorite type of pizza?

*Location:
12553 State Road #535
Orlando, FL 32836

Leave a Reply

